Event Date: 
Wednesday, October 15, 2014 - 8:00pm to 10:30pm


Each year DC Vote recognizes individuals, companies and organizations for their dedication to fulfilling the promise of democracy. These honorees represent the very best of American excellence and, with courage, exercise their liberties to speak out about the injustice of disenfranchisement. Through their actions and words, they defend our freedoms and promote our ideals. These Champions of Democracy understand that being disenfranchised affects all aspects of civic and community life. 

2014 Honoree

We are thrilled to honor the Herb Block Foundation for their success in keeping the philanthropic and democratic spirit of Herb Block alive; and making his talents known to many generations.

Herb Block is among the world’s best known and most admired political cartoonists. Born on October 13, 1909, the native Chicagoan spent his 72-year career producing powerful cartoons on poverty, race, education and civil rights that altered public opinion and influenced politicians. He began his editorial cartooning career at the Chicago Daily News and NEA Service before landing at The Washington Post in 1946. His cartoons spanned over 13 American Presidents from Herbert Hoover to George W. Bush. He received three Pulitzer Prizes and shared a fourth with The Washington Post for his cartoons. He was the recipient of innumerable awards and honorary degrees, including the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the highest civilian award the government can give. Herb Block was known as a gentle, self-effacing man with a steely resolve to use his work to bring injustices to light. 


 40th Anniversary of DC Home Rule


Marie Johns | L & L Consulting     and     Joseph Perta | Director, Barclays

Honorary Chair

Delegate Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC)

Host Committee

Chuck Alexander | Dr. Kim Barnette | Vinoda Basnayake | Jon Bouker | Marcela Brané | Mimi Castaldi | Abby Greensfelder | The Honorable David Grosso | Dannia Hakki | Ed Krauze | Bob Levey | Samuel McCoy | Lorraine Miller | Marc Morial | Jeffrey Richardson | Daniel Solomon | Joseph Sternlieb | Laurie Wingate | Trish Vradenburg

Current Sponsors

Patriot | Daniel & Jane Solomon | Lois & Richard* England | Trish & George Vradenburg | Laurie Wingate & Mark Chandler

Defender | Diane Bernstein | Lydia Micheaux Marshall | Thorn & Sharis Pozen | Joe Sternlieb & Linda Singer | Pepco | DC Association of REALTORS® | Arent Fox LLP

Supporter | Chuck Alexander | Sunny & Bill Alsup | Vinoda Basnayake | Carefirst BlueCross Blue Shield Dominique Bravo & Eric Sloan | Andrew Burness | The Campaign Workshop, Inc. | Mimi Castaldi | Roz Cohen | Delta Decisions of DC, LLC (Dr. Shree Taylor - President & CEO; Dr. Kim Barnette - COO) | Abby Greensfelder & Franklin Foer | Ann Hoffman | Edwin E. Huddleson & Andra N. Oakes | L&L Consulting - a division of Leftwich & Ludaway, LLC | Samuel E. McCoy | Charles & Jeanette Miller | Jack & Lovell Olender Foundation | Joseph Perta | UDC David. A Clarke School of Law  Barry Zigas & Jodie Levin-Epstein

Activist | Margot Aronson Levin & Ed Levin | Mr. & Mrs. Corey & Kim Barnette | Robert Berry | Marsha Lillie Blanton & Thomas Blanton | Jeff Blum | Katherine & David Bradley | McQuade Brennan LLC | Bruce Brown & Amy Rifkind  | Edwin & Sara Davis | DC Appleseed Center for Law & Justice | Dan Edelman | The Honorable & Mrs. Bert T Edwards | College Success Foundation - DC | Sarajane Foster | Aviva Kempner | Ellen Kirsh and Tony Clifford | Robert Levey | National Urban League | Powell Watkins Partners, LLC | Raffa Managed Accounting Services P.C. | Elaine Reuben | Judith Sandalow | The Spiva Law Firm, PLLC | Barbara Stout | Josh Wachs | Barbara Yeomans | Ilir Zherka

*in memoriam

The Library of Congress Thomas Jefferson Building 10 First Street, SE Washington, DC