Event Date: 
Wednesday, October 17, 2012 - 7:30pm to 10:00pm

Champions of Democracy exercise their liberties to speak out about the injustice of living under a system where the governed have no vote in the national legislature. Through their actions and words, they defend our freedoms and promote our ideals. Champions of Democracy understand that being disenfranchised affects all aspects of civic and community life.

DC Vote recognizes Champions of Democracy for their dedication to fulfilling the promise of democracy in Washington, DC. These honorees represent the very best of American excellence and cherish the United States as a beacon of freedom and democracy for the world around us.

This year's Champions of Democracy was a huge success! Thank you to everyone who helped to make the evening one to remember.

Check out photos of the event featured in Washinton Life Magazine.

You can watch video of the entire night here courtesy of DCN.

Our champions - Tom Boggs of Patton Boggs, LLC, Bruce Spiva of The Spiva Law Firm PLLC, and civil rights activist Julian Bond - regaled the crowd with stories of their experiences fighting for Democracy in the District of Columbia, and pledged to continue fighting to support the rights of DC residents.

Other notable attendees included Delegate Eleanor Holmes Norton, Mayor Vincent Gray, DC City Councilmembers Mary Cheh and Jack Evans, Youth Mayor Cecilia Thompson, DC United Coach Ben Olsen and more. Check out pictures from the evening here.

On Wednesday, October 17, 2012, we recognized these honorees: 

Julian Bond

Julian Bond continues to be a leader in the fight for civil rights. He helped establish the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee while attending Morehouse College, was the first president of the Southern Poverty Law Center, and served as chairman of the NAACP for 12 years.

Mr. Bond is the Distinguished Adjunct Professor at American University's Department of Government, where he lectures on civil rights and race relations.

As part of his commitment to securing full civil rights for all Americans, Mr. Bond has supported DC Vote's mission through attending rallies and events, as well as taking an active role in the "I Am DC" campaign.


Bruce Spiva

Bruce Spiva is the former chair of the DC Vote Board of Directors. During his time serving on the Board, he testified before the United States Congress in favor of the D.C. Voting Rights Act, a bill that would give residents of D.C. a representative in Congress, and that was passed by the House of Representatives.

Mr. Spiva is a founding partner of The Spiva Law Firm PLLC, a majority-minority owned law firm. He obtained a law degree in 1992 from Harvard Law School, where he was an editor and the Treasurer of the Harvard Law Review.


Thomas Boggs

Thomas Boggs, Chairman of Patton Boggs LLP, has been providing DC Vote and the voting rights movement unparalleled pro bono legal support for the past four years. From providing expert assistance in authoring strategy papers to playing a key role in advocacy events, Patton Boggs is critical to helping advance the struggle for full democracy in DC.

The community service award recognizes the invaluable contributions the organization has made in advancing the fight for full democracy on behalf of the nearly 620,000 residents of the District.

2012 Champions of Democracy Sponsors

  • Jane & Daniel Solomon
  • Richard & Lois England
  • Patton Boggs, LLP
  • Trish & George Vradenburg
  • Laurie Wingate & Mark Chandler
  • Arent Fox, LLP
  • Diane & Norman Bernstein
  • District of Columbia Association of REALTORS
  • Mary Beth & Robert Gosselink
  • Pepco
  • Royal Kennedy Rodgers & Johnathan Rodgers
  • Akridge
  • The Community Foundation for the National Capital Region
  • Lorie Masters & Jack Rose
  • Bruce Spiva & Anna Gelpern
  • The Spiva Law Firm, PLLC
  • Joe Sternlieb & Linda Singer
  • Elizabeth A. Allen & Kendal H. Tyre
  • William B. Alsup, III
  • The Campaign Workshop
  • CareFirst
  • The Coca-Cola Company
  • Rosalind C. Cohen
  • Louie & Ralph Dweck
  • Joseph Fuld
  • Dr. Billie A. Day
  • Lydia & Michael Marshall
  • Charles A. Miller
  • Lorraine Miller
  • Jack H. Olender & Associates, PC
  • Joseph M. Perta
  • Josh Pokempner & Gretchen Gardner
  • Reed Smith, LLP
  • Elaine Reuben
  • Kathy & Al Schmidt
  • UFCW Local 400
  • University of the District of Columbia David A. Clarke School of Law
  • Reginald VanLee
  • Marisel & Thomas Wilbur
  • Barry Zigas & Jodie Levin-Epstein
  • Harry Bainbridge & Tara Scanlon
  • Steven Berk
  • Thomas & Marsha Lille Blanton
  • John Boardman
  • Dominique Bravo & Eric Sloan
  • Bridging Resources in Communities, Inc.
  • Sheryll Cashin and Marque Chambliss
  • Edwin & Sara Davis
  • DC Appleseed Center for Law & Justice
  • Hon. & Mrs. Bert T. Edwards
  • Nancy Mcelroy Folger
  • Aviva Kempner
  • Samuel and Shelvie McCoy
  • Rob & Ruthanne Miller
  • NARAL Pro-Choice America
  • Andra N. Oakes & Edwin E. Huddleson
  • Lawrence Ottinger
  • Rosalind M. Parker, Esq.
  • People For the American Way
  • Sarah Pokempner & Jerry Levine
  • Thorn Pozen
  • Senator Jamie Raskin
  • Benjamin & Lori Soto
  • UNITE HERE Local 25
  • USAction
  • Washington Teachers' Union, AFT Local 6, AFL-CIO
  • Barbara & William Yeomans
  • Eric Angel
  • Carlos Angulo
  • Vinoda Basnayake
  • Micki Chen & Steven Gross
  • Jeanie H. Davis
  • Daniel & Toby Edelman
  • Laurence Eichorn
  • David Falk
  • Sarajane Foster
  • Danielle Glosser & Howard Riker
  • Kathleen R. Hartnett
  • June & John Hechinger
  • Anna R. Jhirad
  • Janis Kestenbaum
  • Robert Levey
  • Joanna London
  • Mary Lord
  • Patrick Mara
  • Colette Matzzie
  • Shannon O'Leary
  • Karen Paul-Stern
  • Edith Ramirez
  • Nelson Rimensnyder
  • Roselle Safran
  • Laine Shakerdge
  • Donald Sherman
  • Barbara Stout
  • Kathy Swayze
  • James Trilling
  • John Welch